International Vocational Education & Training
Mitglieder-Login
Deutsch English
Change to Desktop view

German American Apprenticeship Conference 2021

In her guest article, Astrid Friedrich, International Project Coordinator at the Chamber of Skilled Crafts of Southern Thuringia (HWK Southern Thuringia), reports on the first trip in the context of the BMBF-funded WiSoUSA project. The German project partners of this vocational education and training project were among the first travellers to re-enter the country after entry restrictions were lifted by the US side. The report shows how international vocational training cooperation can succeed under the current conditions.

VET project partners amongst the first to re-enter the US after the travel ban

On 9 November, the German American Apprenticeship Conference 2021 took place in Washington. The HWK Southern Thuringia was represented at the conference as a consortium partner of a US project, which was launched this summer within the framework of the BMBF’s guideline for the “Promotion of implementation projects of organisations of the economic and social partners within the framework of international vocational training cooperation – WiSoVET”, together with partners from the AHK Chicago, the AHK New York and the AHK Atlanta.

The Apprenticeship Conference served both as an exchange platform for questions and solutions on the topic of vocational training in the USA, especially with the support of the foreign chambers of commerce, and as the official start of the three-year WiSoVET joint project together with the Chamber of Crafts of Southern Thuringia.

The date of the conference fell on the second day after the official lifting of the travel ban, which had been in place since March 2020 and had also prevented many families from meeting each other in person for almost a year and a half. Upon arrival at Washington Dulles Airport, reporters from all the well-known media were waiting to receive the first travellers from abroad and to interview them about their experiences.

Arrival at Washington Dulles Airport.

A hybrid conference in the heart of Washington

The conference itself took place in the Historic Duncan House in the immediate vicinity of the White House, so to speak, which did justice to the importance of the topic of vocational education and training for the development of the USA as a business location. The programme was supported by all important actors from the field of VET cooperation and VET. A total of about 80 participants attended virtually and 40 participants attended in person.

The event was opened by Dietmar Rieg, President and CEO of the German American Chamber of Commerce.

Dr. Emily Haber, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to the USA, then spoke and praised the activities of both countries in the area of vocational education and training cooperation.

Dr. Emily Haber, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to the USA

This years’ GACC Apprenticeship Award

Another highlight was the award ceremony of the GACC Apprenticeship Award, which this time was presented to Seyer Industries. Mr. Dave Sweda, Talent Development and Safety Manager at Seyer Industries accepted the award. In his acceptance speech, he emphasised the importance of dual apprenticeships based on the German model in an industry where the highest quality is an absolute prerequisite of the job.

The presentation of the award to Seyer Industries by Mark Tomkins, President and CEO, GACC Midwest

Hybrid conference – hybrid panel discussions

The conference was held in a hybrid format, so the welcoming remarks by Alexander Hochradel, representing the German Federal Ministry for Research and Development were broadcast via screen. The conference room was well suited for a hybrid event, so that virtual contributions also came across well, as was shown afterwards in three panel discussions: In particular, the first discussion panel on the topic of “Long-term strategies for workforce development”, moderated by Mario Kratsch, Vice President GACC Midwest, showed that hybrid formats are well suited even for panel discussions. Hannes Barske, Head of the Internationalisation of Vocational Education and Training Department at the DLR Project Management Agency, joined the discussion via screen transmission from Germany.

David Langdon (Senior Advisor, U.S. Department of Commerce), Brent Parton (Senior Advisor for Workforce, Department of Labor, Moderator Mario Kratsch (Vice President GACC Midwest)

Auf dem Bildschirm Hannes Barske (DLR Projektträger, Leiter der Abteilung „Internationalisierung der Berufsbildung“)

On the screen Hannes Barske (DLR Project Management Agency, Head of the “Internationalisation of Vocational Education and Training” Department)

During the panel discussion, it became apparent that the panellists on both the German and the American side agreed on the importance of standardised and sound vocational training for the development of a sustainable pool of qualified workers. The American government is increasingly focusing on vocational training and wants to counteract the trend towards academisation with attractive training models and career options. This positive attitude will open up further options for cooperation with German partners in VET cooperation.

The second panel discussion on “Cooperation of Community Colleges, Employers and Intermediaries” was moderated by Rachel Mauer (President at the German American Chamber of Commerce, Pittsburgh Chapter). She welcomed the following panelists:

  • Kathy Meisinger (Director, Strategic Partnerships & Experiential Learning, Elgin Community College), Aaron Fichtner (President, New Jersey Council of County Colleges),
  • Dave Sweda (Talent Development and Safety Manager, Seyer Industries) and
  • Sam Osten (President, Impact Guard LLC)

Together they spoke about the benefits and challenges for VET partners in the US, especially during and after the pandemic. The importance of government support for training was repeatedly mentioned as a key factor.

Das Diskussionspanel „Cooperation of Community Colleges, Employers and Intermediaries“

The discussion panel “Cooperation of Community Colleges, Employers and Intermediaries”

The last panel, moderated by Matthew Allen from GACC New York on “Green cross-sector apprenticeships for a sustainable future” showed particularly clearly how important sustainable and needs-based training is for new sectors, especially the green economy. The topic of attracting interested and suitable apprentices was particularly exciting here.

First in-person meeting of the project team of WiSoUSA

After the official programme, the project team of the BMBF-funded project “WiSoUSA” met for a working discussion on the project status and the status of the individual work packages.

From left to right: Astrid Friedrich (HWK Southern Thuringia), Sascha Alexander Kuhn (AHK Chicago), Matthew Allen (AHK New York), Cindy Klarwasser (AHK New York), Tobias Bolle (KIBB), Scott Schrein (AHK Atlanta), Mario Kratsch (AHK Chicago)

After almost five months of online events, a face-to-face meeting with the project team was very helpful in order to get to know each other and to compare the status of the individual work packages. The project is well on schedule and on budget despite the more difficult implementation conditions due to the pandemic. The next work steps have been coordinated and the flow of information between the partners is very positive. The project WiSoUSA is accompanied by the SCIVET coordination office that also supports the project part of the crafts sector. The Chamber of Skilled Crafts of Southern Thuringia also uses the SCIVET strategy kit for project planning and implementation as well as the SCIVET expert kit.

Ich stimme der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Informationen über Cookies und Ihre Rechte erhalten Sie im Datenschutzhinweis.

International Vocational Education & Training
Mitglieder-Login
Deutsch English
Change to Desktop view

German American Apprenticeship Conference 2021

In ihrem Gastbeitrag berichtet Astrid Friedrich, Projektkoordinatorin Internationales an der Handwerkskammer Südthüringen, über die erste Reise im Rahmen des BMBF-geförderten Projekts WiSoUSA. Die deutschen Projektpartner dieses Berufsbildungsprojekts gehörten zu den ersten Reisenden, die nach Aufhebung der Einreisebeschränkungen von US-Seite wieder ins Land kamen. Der Bericht zeigt, wie internationale Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit unter den aktuellen Bedingungen gelingen kann.

Projektpartner der Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit unter den ersten USA-Reisenden nach den Einreisebeschränkungen

Am 9. November fand die German American Apprenticeship Conference 2021 in Washington statt. Die HWK Südthüringen war als Konsortialpartner eines US-Projekts, das in diesem Sommer im Rahmen der Richtlinie zur „Förderung von Implementierungsprojekten von Organisationen der Wirtschafts- und Sozialpartner im Rahmen der internationalen Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit – WiSoVET“ des BMBF gestartet wurde, gemeinsam mit den Partnern aus der AHK Chicago, der AHK New York sowie der AHK Atlanta bei der Konferenz vertreten.

Die Apprenticeship Conference diente sowohl als Austauschplattform für Fragen und Lösungen rund um das Thema berufliche Ausbildung in den USA, vor allem mit der Unterstützung der Auslandhandelskammern, als auch als offizieller Start des dreijährigen WiSoVET Verbundprojektes gemeinsam mit der Handwerkskammer Südthüringen.

Das Datum der Konferenz fiel auf den zweiten Tag nach der offiziellen Aufhebung des travel bans, der seit März 2020 galt und auch viele Familien fast anderthalb Jahre daran gehindert hatte, einander persönlich zu treffen. Bei Ankunft am Flughafen Washington Dulles standen bereits Reporter aller namhaften Medien bereit, um die ersten Reisenden aus dem Ausland zu empfangen und zu ihren Schicksalen zu befragen.

Ankunft am Washington Dulles Airport

Eine hybride Konferenz im Herzen Washingtons

Die Konferenz selbst fand im Historic Duncan House sozusagen in direkter Nachbarschaft zum Weißen Haus statt, was der Bedeutung des Themas Berufliche Bildung für die Entwicklung des Wirtschaftsstandortes USA durchaus gerecht wurde. Das Programm wurde von allen wichtigen Akteuren aus dem Bereich Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit und Berufsbildung getragen. Insgesamt waren etwa 80 Teilnehmer virtuell und 40 Teilnehmer in Präsenz dabei.

Die Veranstaltung wurde von Dietmar Rieg, dem Präsidenten und CEO der German American Chamber of Commerce eröffnet.

Danach sprach Dr. Emily Haber, die Botschafterin der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in den USA und würdigte die Aktivitäten beider Länder im Bereich Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit.

Dr. Emily Haber, Botschafterin der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in den USA

Der diesjährige GACC Apprenticeship Award

Ein weiteres Highlight war die Verleihung des GACC Apprenticeship Awards, der diesmal an Seyer Industries verliehen wurde. Herr Dave Sweda, Talent Development and Safety Manager bei Seyer Industries nahm den Preis entgegen. In seiner Dankesrede betonte er, wie wichtig eine an das deutsche Modell angelehnte duale Ausbildung in einem Industriezweig ist, bei dem höchste Qualität eine absolute Grundvoraussetzung der Arbeit darstellt.

Die Verleihung des Preises an Seyer Industries durch Mark Tomkins, Präsident und CEO, GACC Midwest

Hybride Konferenz – hybride Podiumsdiskussionen

Die Konferenz fand in Teilpräsenz statt, sodass die Grußworte von Alexander Hochradel, Bundesminister für Forschung und Entwicklung per Bildschirm übertragen wurden. Der Konferenzraum war gut für eine hybride Veranstaltung geeignet, sodass auch virtuelle Beiträge gut zur Geltung kamen, wie sich im Anschluss bei drei Paneldiskussionen zeigte: Insbesondere beim ersten Gesprächspanel zum Thema „Langfristige Strategien zur Entwicklung von Arbeitskräften“, von Mario Kratsch, Vice President GACC Midwest moderiert, zeigte sich, dass sich Hybridformate selbst für Paneldiskussionen gut eignen. So diskutierte Hannes Barske,  Leiter der Abteilung „Internationalisierung der Berufsbildung“ beim DLR Projektträger per Bildschirmübertragung aus Deutschland mit.

David Langdon (Senior Advisor, U.S. Department of Commerce), Brent Parton (Senior Advisor for Workforce, Department of Labor, Moderator Mario Kratsch (Vice President GACC Midwest)
Auf dem Bildschirm Hannes Barske (DLR Projektträger, Leiter der Abteilung „Internationalisierung der Berufsbildung“)
Auf dem Bildschirm Hannes Barske (DLR Projektträger, Leiter der Abteilung „Internationalisierung der Berufsbildung“)

Während der Paneldiskussion zeichnete sich ab, dass sich die Diskussionsteilnehmer auf deutscher und amerikanischer Seite über die Bedeutung einer standardisierten und fundierten Berufsausbildung für die Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen Pools an qualifizierten Arbeitskräften einig waren. Die amerikanische Regierung setzt verstärkt auf Berufsbildung und will mit attraktiven Ausbildungsmodellen und Karriereoptionen dem Akademisierungstrend entgegen wirken. Durch diese positive Haltung werden sich weitere Optionen für die Zusammenarbeit mit den deutschen Partnern in der Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit eröffnen.

Die zweite Paneldiskussion zum Thema „Cooperation of Community Colleges, Employers and Intermediaries“ wurde von Rachel Mauer (President at the German American Chamber of Commerce, Pittsburgh Chapter) moderiert. Sie begrüßte die folgenden Podiumsteilnehmer:

  • Kathy Meisinger (Director, Strategic Partnerships & Experiential Learning, Elgin Community College),
  • Aaron Fichtner (President, New Jersey Council of County Colleges),
  • Dave Sweda (Talent Development and Safety Manager, Seyer Industries) und
  • Sam Osten (President, Impact Guard LLC)

Gemeinsam sprachen sie über die Vorteile und Herausforderungen für die Berufsbildungspartner in den USA, vor allem während und nach der Pandemie. Die Wichtigkeit staatlicher Förderung von Ausbildung wurde immer wieder als Schlüsselfaktor erwähnt.

Das Diskussionspanel „Cooperation of Community Colleges, Employers and Intermediaries“
Das Diskussionspanel „Cooperation of Community Colleges, Employers and Intermediaries“

Das letzte Panel, moderiert von Matthew Allen von der GACC New York zum Thema „Green cross-sector apprenticeships for a sustainable future“ zeigte besonders deutlich, wie wichtig eine nachhaltige und bedarfsbezogene Ausbildung für neue Sektoren, insbesondere die Green Economy, ist. Sehr spannend war hier vor allem das Thema der Gewinnung von interessierten und geeigneten Auszubildenden.

Das erste persönliche Treffen des WiSoUSA -Teams

Im Anschluss an das offizielle Programm traf sich das Projektteam des BMBF-geförderten Projektes „WiSoUSA“ zu einem Arbeitsgespräch über den Projektstand und den Stand der einzelnen Arbeitspakete.

Projektteam WiSoUSA von links nach rechts: Astrid Friedrich (HWK Südthüringen), Sascha Alexander Kuhn (AHK Chicago), Matthew Allen (AHK New York), Cindy Klarwasser (AHK New York), Tobias Bolle (KIBB), Scott Schrein (AHK Atlanta), Mario Kratsch (AHK Chicago)

Nach fast fünf Monaten Online-Veranstaltungen war ein persönliches Treffen mit dem Projektteam sehr hilfreich, um sich genau zueinander zu verorten und den Arbeitsstand der einzelnen Arbeitspakete abzugleichen. Das Projekt liegt trotz der pandemiebedingt erschwerten Umsetzungsbedingungen gut im Zeitplan und im Budget. Die nächsten Arbeitsschritte wurden abgestimmt und der Informationsfluss zwischen den Partnern ist sehr positiv zu bewerten. Das Projekt WiSo USA wird von der SCIVET Koordinierungsstelle begleitet und der Projektteil des Handwerks unterstützt. Die Handwerkskammer Südthüringen nutzt außerdem den SCIVET-Strategiebaukasten für die Projektplanung und- umsetzung sowie das SCIVET Expertenkit.

Zum Weiterlesen

Ich stimme der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Informationen über Cookies und Ihre Rechte erhalten Sie im Datenschutzhinweis.